• +61 (0) 8 6388 8059
  • Mon - Fri 09:00 - 17:00 AWST
  We have been alerted to a scam email being sent to .au registrants impersonating auDA, the .au domain administrator. The message reads: Greetings, We would like to inform you that starting from the X of X 2021 we are requested to obtain and verify all .au domain name owners information.You are listed in our database as the owner of <YOUR DOMAIN> domain name.In order to keep the domain active please reply with the following: Photo IdentificationA clear, readable, valid and unaltered scanned color copy or photo of one of the following documents:- The photo page of your passport   or- Drivers license (front and back) A clear, readable, valid and unaltered scanned and color copy of your Medicare Card (front and back) Rest assured that all documents are handled securely in accordance with our data privacy. We are hoping for your kind understanding and we appreciate your response to this email within 24 hours to avoid the cancellation of your domain. Looking forward to hearing from you regarding this matter. Regards, XXX This email is a SCAM and it requests personal information including scanned copies of identification documents from the recipient. If you or one of your customers receive an email requesting this information, we advise all recipients to not respond.Instead, please notify ACCC's Scamwatch. If someone has already provided personal details in response to this scam email, they will need to make a report to their state or territory police force. auDA will only request this kind of material via us, your registrar.    
Businesses around the world constantly face an onslaught of spammer and scammers on a daily basis either by mail, email, or phone. Today let's talk about one scam that has been going on for quite some time, but has recently reared it's ugly head yet again. When you register domain names and trademarks, make sure that all the relevant people know the companies you use to procure and maintain these services, many scams are targeted directly at people that either don't know any better, or are far too busy to consider the ramifications. In this case, we received multiple emails from people claiming to be from various chinese domain registries, indicating that a company there has tried to register domains that resemble our own. Sounds innocent enough to begin with, however these are nothing but a scam to try and get you to pay exhorbant fees on domain names and 'internet names' that you don't need or want. Below is the contents of one such email: (It's very urgent, please transfer this email to your CEO. Thanks) This email is from China domain name registration center, which mainly deal with the domain name registration in China. On Oct 10, 2018 , we received an application from Kailan Ltd requested "senseict" as their internet keyword and China (CN) domain names (senseict.cn, senseict.com.cn, senseict.net.cn, senseict.org.cn). But after checking it, we find this name conflict with your company name or trademark. In order to deal with this matter better, it's necessary to send email to you and confirm whether this company is your distributor or business partner in China?Best Regards**************************************Steve Liu | Service & Operations ManagerCN Registry (Head Office) | 6012, Xingdi Building, No. 1698 Yishan Road, Shanghai 201103, ChinaTel: +86-02164193517 | Fax: +86-02164198327 | Mob: +86-13816428671Email: steve @ cnregistry.org.cnWeb: www.cnregistry.org.cn**************************************This email contains privileged and confidential information intended for the addressee only. If you are not the intended recipient, please destroy this email and inform the sender immediately. We appreciate you respecting the confidentiality of this information by not disclosing or using the information in this email. It seems legit at first glance, however all you need to do is do a quick google search for "It's very urgent, please transfer this email to your CEO. Thanks" to see something very different. In effect, what they're trying to do is act on your complacency or urgency to protect your apparent trademark, however in doing so, they charge you thousands of dollars. If you want  to get yourself a .cn or .asia domain, We strongly recommend purchasing them via your preferred provider, these emails are nothing but a falacy to get you to spend money with them. What do you do if you get one've these emails? We advise you ignore it, and add the sending addresses to your spam filters; If you really do want to get these domains then purchase them with your trusted domain provider.